The National Curriculum

The ‘basic’ school curriculum includes the ‘National Curriculum’, and Foundation Stage Curriculum. Our Religious Education, follows the Croydon Agreed Syllabus. We also follow The Relationships Education, RSE, and Health Education (England) Regulations 2019.

The national curriculum is a set of subjects and standards used by Primary and Secondary Schools so children learn the same things. It covers what subjects are taught and the standards children should reach in each subject.

Other types of school like Academies and private schools don’t have to follow the national curriculum. Academies must teach a broad and balanced curriculum including English, maths and science. They must also teach religious education.

To view our Curriculum Statement, CLICK HERE.

Key stages

The national curriculum is organised into blocks of years called ‘key stages’ (KS). At the end of each key stage, the teacher will formally assess your child’s performance.


By the end of each summer term the school must write a report on your child’s progress and talk it through with you.

Core Curriculum Overview by year group

Below you will find downloadable information relating to the core curriculum overview for each year group. We often change topics and themes based on the children’s interest and or current events. Please use the year by year topic webs to get a more accurate and up to date overview of what the children will be learning and exploring each term.

To download these documents, please click on the links below:

Whole school Curriculum topics 2021-2022:

Autumn 1 Curriculum info for parents 2021: